To read

1 - Our letter to the 2020 artists

The health and social situation caused by the Covid-19 epidemic in a large part of the world today questions the organization of events intended for the public in France and more generally in Europe. It also seriously affects the creative work of artists, wherever they are.

Following several work sessions with Boris Charmatz and his team, Annick de Chaunac and the team of the Fondation d'Entreprise Hermès, Emmanuel Demarcy-Mota and the team of Théâtre de la Ville, we have come to the conclusion that it would not be possible to hold the 2020 edition of Danse Elargie in acceptable conditions, both artistically and logistically, as well as in terms of health.

In order to respond to the disarray that results from this observation, we have imagined a scenario that can satisfactorily support the sustainability of your projects as well as their inclusion in the
history of the the Danse Elargie competition.

Our partners, the Ministry of Culture, SACD and the National Choreographic Center of Rennes and
Brittany have supported us in our reflection. It is therefore thanks to the support of all that we are able to make a concrete proposal today:

  1. A development grant of € 3,000 will be awarded to each of the 20 selected projects;
  2. Visibility of each of the 20 projects will be given on different media (website, press release, etc.);
  3. Promotion for the work will be activated with information for professionals (emails, professional meetings, French and European networks, partner structures, etc.).

We are also thinking of making a short film that gives a record of this edition unlike any other. In the hope of making a place for you, to have your generation stand out following the five Danse Elargie generations that have followed one another since 2010. We will contact you very soon on this subject.
In this way, we hope to contribute modestly to the development of your projects. As with all the finalists that have preceded you, we are committed to following your work in the future, near and far, with great attention and kindness.

Boris Charmatz, Annick De Chaunac, Emmanuel Demarcy-Mota

2 - Danse élargie, a contest-in-movement that belongs to artists

Every two years, twenty unpredictable projects arrive one after another on a Parisian stage where a part of dance history is being made. Chosen from hundreds of applicants, the finalists of the sixth edition hail from four continents. More than 400 submissions from 54 countries – among which numbered 26 European states – were accepted. The others were from countries in Africa, America and Asia. But Danse élargie continues predominantly to attract the attention of French and European artists who comprised three-fourth of the submissions. The selection too reflects this ratio faithfully : out of the twenty finalists, a quarter are from other continents. Two projects from India and from Iran have been notably included in the selection, with a total of eighteen performers from these countries.

The preponderance of submissions poses a major challenge for the small team consisting of three department heads from Théâtre de la Ville, three from the team of Boris Charmatz and one representative of Fondation d’entreprise Hermès. Together with this partner – present from the outset – they mull over the larger context, including the possibilities of long-term support to the applicants and the development of the contest across time. Crucial as it is, that implies more than a financial contribution. But how does one study more than 400 submissions? The selectors – huddled together in a straight-out conclave across three days – watch everything and proceed by elimination, till there are fifty submissions, which are reviewed several times, and further downsized to thirty. In the last decisive round, Boris Charmatz joins the deliberations, casting a fresh eye, which helps narrow the choice down to twenty finalists. From the submitted videos, the jury study the artistic gamble that a performance on a large stage would entail for a nascent project. There could be a huge gap between the first draft and the final result, and works tend to show their real colours only during the contest.

Artistic yardsticks are designed to favour an “expanded dance”, often at the borders between disciplines and genres, with a new, singular, stamp. It is up to artists to own the idea of Danse élargie and take it further. But the main idea remains: the freedom to create and innovate!

And the contest Danse élargie itself evolves, inevitably. Boris Charmatz, its cofounder in 2010, is no longer director of Musée de la danse in Rennes and cannot contribute anymore to its funding, but the French Ministry of Culture has come to its aid in 2020, fittingly, to make up for his absence. More backing comes from SACD, also an associate since the outset with grants for promotion/touring, and from CCN de Rennes-Bretagne which, in turn, wished to be involved (let us not forget that two of the codirectors of the collective are former prizewinners). And, of course, there is Théâtre de la Ville itself. More and more theatres and festivals support the finalists, inviting them on residencies and taking on the gamble of presenting their work. Sadler’s Wells, the prestigious dance theatre in London, programmed a full evening in 2019 comprising the works of seven finalists of Danse élargie. Plans are underway to explore a Danse élargie division in Taiwan, and several partners have expressed interest in promoting the 2020 and 2021 editions. Watch this space!

                                                                                                                                                         Thomas Hahn

3 - READ THE 2020 CALL FOR PROJECTS

4 - CHECK THE RULES

5 - SEE THE 2020 PRESS KIT here

A lire

1 - Lettre aux artistes de la sélection 2020

. La situation sanitaire et sociale induite par l’épidémie de Covid-19 dans une grande partie du globe remet aujourd’hui en cause l’organisation d’événements à destination du public en France et plus généralement en Europe. Elle affecte aussi sérieusement le travail de création des artistes, où qu’ils se trouvent.
. À la suite de plusieurs séances de travail réunissant Boris Charmatz et son équipe, Annick de Chaunac et l’équipe de la Fondation d’entreprise Hermès, Emmanuel Demarcy-Mota et l’équipe du Théâtre de la Ville, nous avons constaté qu’il ne serait pas possible de tenir l’édition 2020 de Danse Élargie dans des conditions acceptables, tant sur le plan artistique et logistique, que sur le plan sanitaire.
. Afin de répondre au désarroi qui résulte de ce constat, nous avons imaginé un scénario qui puisse assurer de façon satisfaisante la pérennité de vos projets ainsi que leur inscription dans l’histoire du concours Danse élargie. Nos partenaires, le Ministère de la Culture, la SACD et le Centre chorégraphique national de Rennes et de Bretagne nous ont accompagnés dans notre réflexion. C’est donc grâce au soutien de tous que nous sommes en mesure de vous faire une proposition concrète aujourd’hui :

  1. Une bourse de développement d’un montant de 3.000€ sera attribuée à chacun des 20 projets sélectionnés.
  2. Une visibilité de l’ensemble des 20 projets sera donnée sur différents supports (site internet, réseaux, presse…).
  3. Un encouragement à la diffusion sera activé avec des informations aux professionnels (mails, réunions professionnelles, réseaux français et européens, structures partenaires…).

. Par ailleurs nous réfléchissons à la réalisation d’un film court qui donne une trace de cette édition pas comme les autres. Dans l’espoir de vous faire une place, de rendre vivante et visible votre génération à la suite des cinq générations Danse Elargie qui se sont succédées depuis 2010. Nous allons vous recontacter très prochainement à ce sujet.
. Par cela, nous espérons contribuer modestement au développement de vos projets. Comme à tous les finalistes avant vous, nous vous faisons la promesse de suivre votre travail dans l’avenir, proche et lointain, avec beaucoup d’attention et de bienveillance.

Boris Charmatz, Annick De Chaunac, Emmanuel Demarcy-Mota

2 - Danse élargie, un concours en mouvement qui appartient aux artistes

Tous les deux ans, vingt projets imprévisibles se succèdent sur un plateau parisien où s’est écrite une partie de l’histoire de la danse. Sélectionnés parmi des centaines de candidats, les finalistes de la sixième édition viennent de quatre conti- nents. Plus de 400 candidatures ont été approuvées, en provenance de 54 pays, dont 26 pays européens. L’Afrique, l’Amérique et l’Asie se partagent l’autre moitié. Mais Danse élargie continue d’attirer majoritairement l’attention des artistes français et européens qui représentent les trois quarts des candidatures. La sélection reflète fidèlement cette répartition : sur les vingt finalistes, un quart vient d’autres continents. Deux projets de l’Inde ont été notamment retenus dans la sélection, totalisant 18 interprètes à faire venir de ces pays.

L’affluence des candidatures constitue un défi majeur pour la petite équipe composée de trois responsables du Théâtre de la Ville, trois de l’équipe de Boris Charmatz et un représentant de la Fondation d’entreprise Hermès. Avec ce partenaire de la première heure, c’est d’ailleurs une réflexion globale qui est menée, sur le soutien à long terme des candidats et sur l’évolution du concours sur la durée. On est loin d’une simple contribution financière, aussi cruciale soit-elle. Mais comment examine-t-on plus de 400 candidatures? Réuni en un véritable conclave de trois jours, le groupe regarde tout et procède par élimination. Reste une cinquantaine de propositions vues et revues plusieurs fois, jusqu’à arriver à trente. En dernière instance, Boris Charmatz arrive avec un regard neuf qui permet d’arrêter le choix des vingt finalistes. Le jury réfléchit, à partir des vidéos reçues, au risque artistique inhérent à la présentation, sur un grand plateau, pour un projet en processus de définition. Un grand écart peut effectivement séparer la maquette du résultat final, et les projets ne se révèlent vraiment que lors du concours.

Les critères artistiques vont bien sûr dans le sens d’une « danse élargie », souvent aux frontières des disciplines et des genres, et de nouvelles écritures, personnelles et singulières. Il appartient aux artistes de s’emparer de l’idée de Danse élargie et de la faire évoluer. Mais l’idée principale reste : la liberté de créer et d’innover !

Et Danse élargie évolue, forcément. Boris Charmatz, cofondateur en 2010, n’est plus à la direction du Musée de la danse de Rennes et ne peut plus contribuer au financement mais le ministère de la Culture est venu en renfort pour cette édition 2020, justement pour y suppléer. D’autres financements viennent de la SACD, partenaire elle aussi depuis le début par des aides à la diffusion, du CCN de Rennes-Bretagne qui a souhaité s’investir à son tour (rappelons que deux des codirec- teurs du collectif sont d’anciens lauréats) et bien sûr du Théâtre de la Ville. De plus en plus de lieux et de festivals suivent les finalistes, les accueillent en résidence et prennent le risque de les présenter. Le prestigieux Sadler’s Wells de Londres a programmé en 2019 une soirée composée de 7 finalistes de Danse élargie. Un volet Danse élargie Taïwan est en prospection et plusieurs partenaires ont exprimé leur intérêt pour des diffusions en 2020 et 2021. À suivre !

                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Thomas Hahn

3 - Lire l’appel à projet 2020

4 - Consulter le règlement

5 - Découvrez le dossier de presse de l'édition 2020